Members PDF Print E-mail

Members of the Dora Stratou Society are persons of high position who have offered significant services to the Theater in their various professional, scientific or other capacities. Membership is less than 100, mostly academics of all backgrounds.

The General Assembly meets every three years to elect a 7-member Governing Council, and every year to hear the Council's report. The President of the Council manages, represents and binds the Society with his actions.

Since 1987 the elected president is Dr. Alkis Raftis, the leading authority on Greek dance, a graduate of four universities and former professor at the universities of Patras and Paris. He is President of the International Dance Council (CID-UNESCO), the umbrella organization for all forms of dance in all countries of the world. Prof. Raftis speaks six languages and has published more than 20 books and many articles in various languages. He is widely known as one of the foremost dance historians, certainly the most prolific one.

Members of the Board for the period 2009-2012 are:

President: Mr. Dr. Alkis Raftis, former Professor, University of Patras and University of Paris

Vice-President: Mr. Stergios Theocharidis, Computer Engineer

General Secretary: Ms. Aggeliki Christofilopoulou

Cashier: Mr. Alexandros Varoudakis, Director, Ministery of Finance

Member: Mr. Dr. Stavros Goutsos, Professor, University of Patras
Member: Ms. Dr. Anthoula Diamanti-Kipioti, former Professor, University of Athens
Member: Mr. Dimitris Mitsis, folklorist, author, director